SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

73 long-serving employees recognised

73 long-serving employees recognised Seventy-three employees have clocked up a total 1,516 years of combined service for the City
of Canterbury Bankstown. No 73 long-serving employees recognised Seventy-three employees have clocked up a total 1,516 years of combined service for the City News Columns; News and Updates; Media Releases
People shaking hands

​Seventy-three employees have clocked up a total 1,516 years of combined service for the City of Canterbury Bankstown.

Mayor Khal Asfour said 24 staff with 10 years’ service, 24 with 20 years, 21 with 30 years and four with an extraordinary 40 years, contributed to this impressive figure.

“We are only as good as our people, and our staff are some of the very best in local government,” he said.

“They truly live our mission, which is providing quality services to our community every day.”

Four of Council’s longest serving employees are Gary Crowe, Glenn Smith, Les Andrews and Richard Miszczyk, who have achieved the 40-year milestone.

Mr Miszczyk, who is a Maintenance Inspector in Roads and Infrastructure, started with the former Bankstown City Council in 1979.

“Honestly, when I started I only planned on being here for three weeks because it was hard work, operating the machinery and equipment,” he said.

“But I stuck it out because of how interesting the job was and I was lucky that new jobs kept coming up that I could apply for.”

Mr Miszczyk said times had definitely changed since the beginning of his tenure.

“Let me put it this way, health and safety has definitely improved over the past 40 years, with the equipment we now use and the protective uniform we have to wear.

“I don’t see myself retiring any time soon but, even when I do, I know I want to continue to give back to the community, by becoming a member of a Council Advisory Committee or maybe being a Councillor.”

For more on a career at Council, visit cb.city/careers


 25/09/2019 5:13 PM