SEARCH LATEST NEWS


Featured News

 

 

Sydney Festival comes to CBCityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/sydney-festival-comes-to-cbcitySydney Festival comes to CBCity2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Free Bus to Beachhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/free-bus-to-beachFree Bus to Beach2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Keep them alive, Always supervisehttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/keep-them-alive-always-superviseKeep them alive, Always supervise2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Movies under the Starshttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/movies-under-the-starsMovies under the Stars2020-01-06T13:00:00Z
Connective City 2036 approvedhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/connective-city-2036-approvedConnective City 2036 approved2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Youth Action Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/youth-action-planYouth Action Plan2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Save Our Recyclinghttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/save-our-recycling-(2)Save Our Recycling2019-12-10T13:00:00Z
Truck parking blitzhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/truck-parking-blitzTruck parking blitz2019-12-09T13:00:00Z
Water safety message key for multicultural communityhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/water-safety-message-key-for-multicultural-communityWater safety message key for multicultural community2019-12-02T13:00:00Z
Shaping the future of Hurlstone Parkhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/shaping-the-future-of-hurlstone-parkShaping the future of Hurlstone Park2019-12-01T13:00:00Z
Community Participation Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/community-participation-planCommunity Participation Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Creative City Strategic Planhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/creative-city-strategic-planCreative City Strategic Plan2019-11-26T13:00:00Z
Revised unit proposal a better fit for Ashburyhttps://www.cbcity.nsw.gov.au/media/news/revised-unit-proposal-a-better-fit-for-ashburyRevised unit proposal a better fit for Ashbury2019-11-26T13:00:00Z

$10 million invested in town centres

$10 million invested in town centres Almost $10 million will be invested in town centres in the City of Canterbury Bankstown in 2019-20. No  

​Almost $10 million will be invested in town centres in the City of Canterbury Bankstown in 2019-20.

Overnight, Council approved a $100 million capital works budget which will see 390 projects undertaken, including a $9.8 million allocation for the upgrading of a number of town centres, involving:

  • Design work for Hurlstone Park;
  • Construction work at Miller Road, Villawood;
  • Construction work at Revesby; and
  • Stage two construction at Canterbury.

Mayor Khal Asfour said $5.2 million has been earmarked for stage two at Canterbury.

"Investing in our town centres is about revitalising and activating our main streets, and designing well-planned and innovative smart centres.

"We want to improve traffic, create better connections for pedestrian access and bring people together to celebrate where we live, work and play."

Stage one of Canterbury town centre improvements, mostly based around upgrading the area around the intersection at Charles and Roberts Streets, include:

  • Construction of new footpaths;
  • Planting of trees and creation of garden beds and raingardens);
  • Installation of a charger for electric car owners;
  • Construction of raised pedestrian crossings;
  • Undergrounding of overhead power lines;
  • Installation of new lighting and smart poles;
  • Construction of kerb and gutter;
  • Reconstruction of road pavement; and
  • Installation of outdoor seating.

"Canterbury Town Centre is a fantastic example of how we are bringing new energy and excitement to our City, and transforming it from a place you pass through to a stop-over destination," Mayor Asfour said.

"As these projects roll out, I look forward to seeing these centres become even more vibrant, creative, enterprising and accessible."

Council has invested more than $30 million on 45 town centre improvement projects in the past decade.

For more information on other Council projects, visit cb.city/councilprojects


 20/08/2019 11:53 AM